pastercatch.blogg.se

Wd my book 3tb format
Wd my book 3tb format







  1. Wd my book 3tb format drivers#
  2. Wd my book 3tb format driver#
  3. Wd my book 3tb format full#

Wd my book 3tb format full#

I got one full backup done by going through my Satechi 10 port USB 3.0 hub. It would seem the Surface Book outputs less than the 650 mA power requirements of the drive, over the USB 3.0 ports.īut I've had mixed results with this assumption. This is easily reproduced, as I tried with 2 different 3TB My Passport Ultra hard drives and 2 different 512GB Microsoft Surface Book laptops. (Clearly something is different about the 3 Tb model beyond simply its capacity.) At the same time, the 2 Tb model works with the Surface book. I plan to test both powered and unpowered.

Wd my book 3tb format driver#

I agree that it could be the chip set, especially since edamb got it working with a different (unpowered) USB 3.0 hub, but I also wonder if there's a driver issue. 5 amp 5V USB 3.0 standard, and presumably WD dpes not depend on more than that.īy the way, the failure of the 3Tb to work with the Surface Book is true when directly connected, when connected via the Surface dock, and when connected via a 4-port USB 2.0 (no external power) Staples hub. I don't think that's the issue since MS meets the. I have asked WD for more detailed electrical specifications (the phone agent suggested that the issue might be that the Surface Book USB 3.0 port does not give enough power). WD does not have further software or firmware updates, either for its utility programs or for the 3 TB My Passport Ultra.I tried all the Windows compatibility options for running the program. Lifeline Dataguard fails after I check the box accepting the license agreement and click next, when run on the Surface Book (Windows 10, with all updates).WD's Lifeline Dataguard software runs on the Dell (Windows 8.1, updated with all the latest updates and drivers).WD My Passport Ultra 3 TB works flawlessly with the Dell, reads ok with the Surface Book, but cannot write from the Surface book.WD My Passport Ultra 2 TB works flawlessly with a Dell XPS 13 system AND with my new Surface Book.I am awaiting a powered USB 3.0 hub to perform more tests. Please screenshot the copying process, any errors you may have, the info from Device Manager, and how the drive is shown in Disk Management. How are you copying the files over, is it a simple copy-paste or are you using another method? How is the external formatted – NTFS? How big is each file you want to copy over?

wd my book 3tb format

Also, when connecting the WD external, check again in Device Manager how the drive is shown and if it needs any updating.

Wd my book 3tb format drivers#

Can you use other external storage devices with your laptop? Can you successfully use other USB devices/extensions with your laptop at all? Check in Device Manager if your USB drivers need updating. Are you using the USB 3.0 port on your wife's laptop, or a USB 2.0? If the latter, try the 3.0.

wd my book 3tb format wd my book 3tb format

If the external is successfully working on another system and with the same cable, the problem is most likely in your system's settings. I'm sorry you're experiencing connectivity issues with the WD My Passport Ultra and your Surface book! :/









Wd my book 3tb format